Class 3 Questions
Selective Fire, Suppressors, and Short Barreled Rifles
There is a misbelief that it is illegal to own “machine guns”, short-barreled rifles, and silencers. This is not true. Keep in mind, I am NOT an attorney. I am only passing along information in a format that can be understood. The ownership of these items is 100% legal in the eyes of the Federal government, with the exception of selective fire or “machine guns” manufactured after May of 1986. These items are restricted to ownership by law enforcement of governmental agencies. However, short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, suppressors, and “machine guns” manufactured prior to May of 1986 can be owned by the average citizen. These item are considered to be “restricted” and have to be registered with the National Firearms Act Branch of the BATFE. Some individual states do have laws which make ownership of these items illegal. Luckily, Louisiana is not one of those states. Louisiana’s laws regarding these items read much like the federal laws themselves. A Louisiana resident must follow the steps outlined below in order to purchase and own any of these “restricted” items.
Once the weapon of choice is selected and arrangements for payment have been made, you must fill out an ATF Form 4 and a Louisiana State Police Request for Transfer of a Firearm Form. These forms have information on the seller and yourself as well as information about the weapon(serial number, barrel length, overall length, etc). The LSP form is sent to the LSP Concealed Handgun Permit division of the LSP for their approval. While you are waiting for the return of this form, you can begin the process of having your Form 4 approved by the Sheriff in the Parish of your residence and get your fingerprint cards and photos. Once all of this information is gathered, and your approval is received from the LSP, you send the Form 4 and the LSP approval along with your ONE TIME $200 tax to the BATFE for their approval. Once approved by the BEATF, the forms will be sent to the seller. The seller will then copy the approval for their records, place the original with the weapon and transfer to you. The overall process can take as little as 6 weeks or as long as 4 to 6 months in some cases.
It sounds like a daunting task, but don’t worry.
The hardest part is the wait!